• Home
  • /
  • Non-Violence & Vegetarianism

Non-Violence & Vegetarianism

The award is given to inspire people to follow the principles of Bhagwan Mahaveer who preached Ahimsa and Nonviolence 2600 years ago. Ahimsa Paramo Dharma" is the cardinal principle that entails reverence for all life and precludes deliberate killing or injuring any living organism. One should not hurt any living being, small or big, intentionally or by negligence.

The aim is to encourage all to be a “Ahimsak”, that is, one who abhors and avoids violence in any form or manner.

The award for excellence in human endeavour in the field of Non-Violence and Vegetarianism is given to one who practises and spreads the humane message of Non-violence and Vegetarianism.

The activities of the nominee may include the following:

  • Propagation of vegetarianism
  • Practice of vegetarianism
  • Protection and care of animals, birds and reptiles
  • Possess a sense of selflessness and compassion in service to others
  • Creative work in promoting Non-violence

The awardee is given a cash award of Rs.10 lakhs, a citation and a memento.

Recipients of Mahaveer Awards for Excellence in Human Endeavour in the fields of Non-Violence & Vegetarianism

Award Year Awardees
27th 2024 Radha Surabhi GauSeva Trust, Radha Kund, Uttar Pradesh
26th 2023 Dhyan Foundation, New Delhi
25th 2022 People for Animals, Sirohi, Rajasthan
24th 2022 Shri Jasraj Shrishrimal, Hyderabad, Telangana
23rd 2021 Baba Palla Singh Goushala, Baba Bakala Town, Punjab
22nd 2021 Federation of Indian Animal Protection Organisations, New Delhi
21st 2018 Dr. Shiranee Pereira, People for Animals, Chennai, Tamil Nadu
20th 2017 Animal Aid Charitable Trust, Udaipur, Rajasthan
19th 2016 Compassion Unlimited Plus Action, Bangalore Karnataka
18th 2015 Visakha Society for Protection and Care of Animals, Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
17th 2015 Blue Cross of India, Chennai, Tamil Nadu
16th 2013 Sri Mohammad Shafique Khan, Sagar, Madhya Pradesh
15th 2012 Sri Chiranjee Lal Bagra, Kolkata, West Bengal
14th 2011 Sri Dayananda Swamiji ,Bangalore, Karnataka
12th 2008 Action for Protection of Wild Animals, Hatapatana, Orissa
11th 2008 Sri Bharat Amritlal Kothari, Rajpur, Gujarat
9th 2005 Sri Siddharaj Dhaddha, Chaura Rasta, Jaipur,Rajasthan
7th 2003 Late Dr. Nemichand Jain, Indore, Madhya Pradesh
6th 2000 Dr. Kalyan Motilal Gangwal, Pune, Maharashtra
5th 1999 Smt. Maneka Gandhi, People for Animals,New Delhi
4th 1998 Sadhu Vaswani Mission, Pune, Maharashtra
3th 1997 Sri Ratanlal C Bafna, Jalgaon, Maharashtra
2nd 1996 Sri S Jagannathan & Smt. Krishnammal Jagannathan Gandhigram, Dindigul, Tamil Nadu